Features Week Day 2: Turn of Phrases

Welcome Toppers! The Turn of Phrases podcast seeks to uncover the meanings behind phrases we use every day.

I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the host Briski. When I was nervous about releasing my first podcast episode, Briski listened to it and assured me I was ready to take the next step in the expansion of the Augie Peterson universe.


What inspired you to become a podcast?

I love listening to podcasts because I love stories. I love to experience them and to tell them, so I decided to give my own show a shot as a new way to tell stories. So many people have shared so many amazing stories through podcasting, and I wanted to do the same.

 

What kinds of topics do you talk about on your podcast?

My podcast is all about the origins and history of idioms, metaphors, superstitions, old wives tales, and more. So, even though each episode is all about etymology, I cover a wide range of topics.

 

What inspired the name of your podcast?

I wanted something catchy that would stand out, so people would remember it. I love puns and plays on words, so I played around with some altered sayings, but nothing felt quite right. Finally it just sort of came to me: I would be explaining where phrases came from, sort of turning them inside out. So, I added a ‘s’ to the expression turn of phrase, and immediately knew it was the title I had to use.

 

Which has been your favorite episode to record so far?

Probably my 13th episode, Very Superstitious. I went over the history of 13 superstitions, and it was my first special episode. It was a little change of pace, and fun to do things a bit differently. https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/turn-of-phrases/id1251725784?mt=2&i=1000392379462

 

What is the most challenging part about podcasting in the genre you’ve chosen?

The research. Most of the sayings I explain have been around along time, and many have more than one believed origin. It’s sometimes a challenge to find enough sources to corroborate the information enough to feel comfortable sharing something on the show.

 

Do you have any funny stories from podcasting?

I don’t have any specific stories, but I do mess up a lot while recording, and have a good laugh at myself on the regular.

 

Is there anyone you’d like to promote?

Some of the first pod pals I made after starting my show were the great gals over at the Courpus Delicti Podcast. They’re a “true crime podcast exploring the who, what, when, where, why, and how of the most puzzling cases.” They have a great show! https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/corpus-delicti/id1256792057?mt=2

 

Where can we find you on social media?

I’m on twitter (https://twitter.com/turnofphrases), and have both a page (fb.com/turnofphrases) and a group (https://facebook.com/groups/Turnofphrases/) on Facebook.


Yesterday’s Featured Artist: Cephalopods

Tomorrow’s Featured Artist: Saint

A huge thank you to Briksi for answering my questions! Show this amazing podcast some love and catch up on the over 35 episodes that already exist.

Most recently, we learned about why breakfast is truly the most important meal of the day!

Published by Augie Peterson

Since October of 2018 I've been writing stories, reviewing movies, and making a podcast. It's been a lot of fun, but there's still room to grow! This could either be a train wreck or the best decision I've ever made. Why don't you follow along to see what happens?